Page #	Bill	Author	Торіс	Recommendation	Notes
23	AB 1046	Ting	Air Quality Improvement Program: Clean Vehicle Rebate Project.	Oppose unless Amended	The bill would require the state ARB to develop a plan to provide for the continuous funding of the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) established as part of the Air Quality Improvement Program to support the deployment of 5,000,000 electric vehicles by December 2030. The bill would authorize the Treasurer to securitize revenues for CVRP.
					Recommended amendment to: 1. Define zero emission to include life-cycle analysis so that fuels from waste will be included.
25	AB 1162	Kalra	Lodging establishments: personal care products: small plastic bottles.	Support if Amend / Oppose unless Amended	This bill would prohibit lodging establishments from providing small plastic bottles containing shampoo, hair conditioner and bath soap to guests. Takes effect January 1, 2023 for lodging establishments with more than 50 rooms, and January 1, 2024 for lodging establishments with 50 rooms or less. Recommended amendment to : 1. Ensure for secure and safe, tamper proof bulk dispensing of personal care products.
					2. Prohibit single-use packaging for personal care products. This bill would require the California Energy Commission (CEC) to allocate at least 10% of the Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Program
29	AB 1406	O'Donnell	Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Program.	Support & Amend	 (Program) funding for line item entitled "alternative fuel and advanced technology vehicles." Staff recommends Support and Amend, this 10% item has the same name as the \$100 million annual funded program it is within. This item is a primary incentive for RNG fuels and low NOx NG vehicles, the current technology available to replace medium- and heavy-duty diesel vehicles and develops market demand for RNG. While this item has historically been 10% and funding requests have far exceeded this allocation, and there are

					significant GHG emissions reductions, this line item is zeroed out unless funded by this bill. Recommended amendment to : 1. Delete the sunset date of 1/1/2024 or extend the sunset date until 1/1/2035 or later to allow for significant GHG emissions reductions from organic waste through this market development of waste to energy RNG.
33	AB 1652	Wicks	Crimes: littering.	Oppose unless Amended	 Existing law prohibits littering or dumping waste into a body of water or onto a beach or shoreline. A violation of this prohibition is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine. Under existing law, the court may, in addition to a fine, order a convicted person to pick up litter as a condition of probation. This bill would instead authorize the court to order a person to perform community service, including, but not limited to, picking up litter. Staff recommends Opposing unless amended, local governments in California annually spend in excess of four hundred twenty million dollars (\$420,000,000) in ongoing efforts to clean up and prevent plastic and other litter from entering our rivers and streams and polluting our beaches and oceans. Recommended amendment to: Litter cleanup should be mandatory when convicted of littering crimes
34	AB 1770	Frazer	Tire recycling program: rubberized pavement.	Support	This bill would extend the sunset on the Rubberized Pavement Market Development Act (Act), from June 30, 2019 to June 30, 2024. The program is intended to promote markets for recycled-content surfacing products derived from waste tires generated in California and decrease the adverse environmental impacts created by unlawful disposal and stockpiling of waste tires. The program provides competitive grants to encourage first-time or limited users of rubberized asphalt concrete (RAC). C&D is a one of the largest waste streams to landfill.

					Staff recommends Support , as this bill will extend this needed and successful waste diversion program.
40	SB 216	Galgiani	Carl Moyer Memorial Air Quality Standards Attainment Program: used heavy-duty truck exchange.	Support if Amended	 This bill would add as an eligible project under the Carl Moyer Memorial Air Quality Standards Attainment Program a used heavy-duty truck exchange, until January 1, 2023. The bill would require the state board to hold a public workshop on the heavy-duty truck exchange and to help air pollution control and air quality management districts add a heavy-duty truck exchange as an eligible project under the program. Staff recommends Support if Amended, as the bill would make low NOx NG heavy-duty vehicles eligible for this financial incentive, which can assist waste haulers and create market demand for waste to energy RNG. Recommended Amendments to: Ensure that the new vehicle purchased as part of the truck exchange program is Zero Emission Electric, Hybrid or Hybrid capable of Zero Emission miles, or low-NOx. Prioritize incentives for purchases of medium- and heavy- duty low NOx engine vehicles that prove utilization of RNG produced from organic waste as a fuel source. Sunset the program on 1/1/2023 as 2023 represents the start of a new statewide policy for heavy-duty vehicles.
41	SB 405	Archuleta	Solid waste: reclaimed asphalt pavement: pilot project: the County of Los Angeles.	Support & Amend	This bill would authorize a pilot program in Los Angeles County relative to the study of recycled asphalt for effectiveness of using certain types of recycled asphalt when paving streets, roads, and highways. Initiates a pilot project in the County of Los Angeles that will demonstrate a new repaving process utilizing a recycled asphalt content of up to 85% to 100%. There are currently more than 30 piles of asphalt material stockpiled from Orange to Ventura Counties and every county in between.

					Staff recommends Support & Amend, as the bill supports further development of a secondary market for recycling of street grindings and reduces asphalt stockpiles throughout California. However, the bill is inactive as the funding source has not been identified.Recommended Amendment to: Request that funding be pursued through the State Budget process for the County to implement the pilot program.
41	SB 409	Wilk	Illegal dumping.	Support	 This bill would expand the crime of illegal dumping to include the transporting of waste matter, rocks, concrete, asphalt, or dirt for the purpose of dumping; makes it a crime to dump, deposit or receive waste matter, rocks, concrete or asphalt, or dirt on private property with the consent of the owner if a permit or license was required but not obtained; increases the fines for illegal dumping; and makes it illegal to transport commercial quantities to dump in specified locations. Staff recommends Support, as the bill will help to ensure that waste is properly processed, reducing environmental damage and public health risks.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
AB 19	Waldron	Amended March 21, 2019. Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.	Existing Law: The Department of Forestry and Fire Protection is required to develop, implement, and administer various forest improvement and fire prevention programs in the state. Existing law requires the Director of Forestry and Fire Protection (DFFP) to classify lands within state responsibility areas into fire hazard severity zones and to identify areas in the state as very high fire hazard severity zones, and requires a local agency to designate, by ordinance, very high fire hazard severity zones in its jurisdiction within 120 days of receiving certain recommendations from the director.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would require DFFP to establish a grant program to provide grants to county road maintenance departments and local fire districts to enable those departments and districts to purchase vegetation management equipment to be used to manage vegetation along streets and roads to prevent the ignition of wildfires on those roads or streets maintained by a county road maintenance department or local fire district that are located in very high fire hazard severity zones, as described. The bill would prescribe requirements for a county road maintenance department or local fire district to be eligible to receive a grant under the program, and would require the DFFP to consider specified information in determining the award of grants. The bill would require DFFP, by May 1, 2021, to provide a report to the Assembly Committee on Budget and the Senate Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review, containing specified information about the grant program. The bill would appropriate the sum of \$25,000,000 from the General Fund to the department to be used to provide grants under the program.	
AB 129	Bloom	Amended March 25, 2019. Assembly Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials.	 Existing Law: The California Safe Drinking Water Act, requires the State Water Resources Control Board to administer provisions relating to the regulation of drinking water to protect public health. Existing law requires the state board, on or before July 1, 2020, to adopt a definition of microplastics in drinking water. Existing law requires the Ocean Protection Council, to the extent funds are available, to adopt and implement a Statewide Microplastics Strategy related to microplastic materials that pose an emerging concern for ocean health. Proposed Law: This bill would require, on or before January 1, 2020, a public entity that uses a laundry system, and a private entity that contracts with a state agency for laundry services, to install a filtration system to capture microfibers that are shed during washing. The bill would require, on or before January 1, 2021, a private entity that uses an industrial or commercial 	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			laundry system to install a filtration system to capture microfibers. The state to reimburse local agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the state.	
AB 142	Garcia	Amended June 26, 2019. Senate Committee on Governance and Finance.	Existing Law: (1) The Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Act of 2016 prohibits a person from disposing, or attempting to dispose, of a lead-acid battery at a solid waste facility or on or in any land, surface waters, watercourses, or marine waters, but authorizes a person to dispose of a lead-acid battery at certain locations. The act requires, until March 31, 2022, a manufacturer battery fee of \$1 to be imposed on a manufacturer of lead-acid batteries for each lead-acid battery it sells at retail to a person in California, or that it sells to a dealer, wholesaler, distributor, or other person for retail sale in California. The act requires the manufacturer battery fee to be paid to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) and requires dealers and manufacturers of lead-acid batteries to register with the department. The act defines "manufacturer" for these purposes. The act requires manufacturer to the state under a judgment or determination of liability under specific hazardous materials provisions or any other law for removal, remediation, or other response costs relating to a release of a hazardous substance from a lead-acid battery recycling facility. (2) The act imposes a California battery fee on a person for specified types of replacement lead-acid battery Cleanup Fund and requires that the fees collected pursuant to the act, except for specified administrative expenses, be deposited into the fund, and provides that moneys in the fund are available upon appropriation by the Legislature to the department for specified activities, including the investigation, site evaluation, cleanup, remedial action, removal, monitoring, or other response actions at any area of the state that is reasonably suspected to have been contaminated by the operation of a lead-acid battery recycling facility, and for the repartment for specified loans.	
			Proposed Law: (1) This bill would, on and after April 1, 2022, increase the amount of the manufacturer battery fee to \$2 and would provide that the fee would continue indefinitely. The bill, on and after January 1, 2020, would authorize a person who manufactures a lead-acid battery and is not subject to the jurisdiction of the state to agree in writing with the importer, as defined, of that lead-acid battery to pay the manufacturer battery fee on behalf of the importer. The bill would exempt an importer who has an agreement of this type with a manufacturer, and who meets other specified requirements, from the requirement to register with CalRecycle. The bill would require CalRecycle on or before January 1, 2022, to submit to the Legislature a	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			report that includes, among other things, any regulations or policies adopted by the department for purposes of ensuring compliance with the registration, returns, reporting, payments, audits, refunds, or collection requirements related to the manufacturer battery fee. The bill would require a manufacturer to regard the purchase as not subject to the manufacturer battery fee, to written documentation from the purchase certifying that the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the manufacturer battery fee. The bill would make a purchaser who subsequently sells or uses the lead-acid battery, such that no exception to the requirement to pay the applicable fee or fees applies, liable for the payment of any applicable fees. The bill would make a purchaser who subsequently sells or uses the lead-acid battery, such that no exception to the requirement to pay the applicable fees. This bill would additionally require that manufacturer battery fees. The bill would make a purchaser of a payment of the manufacturer battery fees remitted pursuant to the act be credited to the account of the manufacturer battery fees remitted pursuant to the act be credited for a payment of the manufacturer battery fee only if certain conditions are met, including that the person provide to the purchaser of a lead-acid battery a statement that includes specified information on the invoice, contract, or other record documenting the transaction. The bill would authorize an importer who has pail of the battery. From liability for the manufacturer battery fee that would develop any provide that the manufacturer battery fee to the state of the abatery, provided that the manufacturer remits payment of the manufacturer battery fee to the state of the abatery. The bill would authorize an importer who has paid the manufacturer battery fee and who receives an untimely statement that the fee has been paid for that battery, provided that the manufacturer battery fee. The bill would authorize a simporter who has paid the ma	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			or for a purpose entitling the dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the California battery fee. The bill would make a purchaser who subsequently sells or uses the lead-acid battery, such that no exception to the requirement to pay the applicable fee or fees applies, liable for the payment of any applicable fees. (3) This bill would require the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) to establish a Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Facility Investigation and Cleanup Program, or LABRIC Program, which would be responsible for identifying areas of the state that are eligible for expenditure of moneys from the Lead-Acid Battery Cleanup Fund for certain purposes. The bill would require the program to provide public notice of the initiation of the investigation or site evaluation of any area reasonably suspected to have been contaminated by the operation of a lead-acid battery recycling facility. The bill would require the department, upon completion of an investigation or site evaluation, to provide notice and an opportunity for comment on the proposed designation of a site as determined with reasonable certainty to have been contaminated by releases from the operation of a facility known to have been a lead-acid battery recycling facility. The bill would require from the fund for purposes of further investigation or evaluation for a site is no longer authorized if, within 2 years of a public notice of the initiation of the investigation or evaluation, the department is unable to designate a site as known to have been contaminated by the operatic battery recycling facility. (4) This bill would revise the authorization for expenditure from the fund to permit expenditure for cleanup, remedial action, removal, monitoring, or other response actions to address contamination directly attributable to releases from the operation of that lead-acid battery recycling facility. The bill would revise the authorization for expenditure from the fund to permit expenditure for cleanup, remedial action, removal, monitoring,	
AB 144	Aguiar- Curry	Amended April 1, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: A thriving in-state forest products sector is declared to provide public benefits, including employment opportunities in both rural and urban areas, and economic development for rural communities. Existing law establishes the Forest Management Task Force pursuant to a specified executive order issued by the Governor, and requires the task force or its successor entity, on or before July 1, 2020, in consultation with specified entities, to develop recommendations for the siting of additional wood product manufacturing facilities in the state. Existing law specifies that it is the intent of the Legislature, in developing those recommendations, that the location and activities of the mass timber production facilities be, among other things, located in or be proximate to, areas that are near the locations of large	Letter of Support if Amended sent to Assembly Committee on Appropriations on April 19, 2019.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			landscape fires and in areas identified as federal opportunity zones or in areas that have an average household income of 5% below the state's median household income. Existing law establishes the Strategic Growth Council in state government consisting of various state agency heads and 3 public members. Existing law assigns to the council certain duties relative to the identification and review of activities and funding programs of state agencies that may be coordinated to improve air and water quality, improve natural resource protection, increase the availability of affordable housing, improve transportation, meet greenhouse gas emissions reduction goals, encourage sustainable land use planning, and revitalize urban and community centers in a sustainable manner.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would add a definition of the task force for purposes of those provisions and recast the median household income threshold from 5% below to at or below 5% of the state's median household income. This bill would require the council, in consultation with stakeholders and relevant permitting agencies, to prepare and submit a report to the Legislature that provides a scoping plan for the state to meet its organic waste, climate change, and air quality mandates, goals, and targets and would require the scoping plan to include, among other things, recommendations on policy and funding support for the beneficial reuse of organic waste.	
AB 161	Ting	ing Amended June 27, 2019 Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: Certain stores are prohibited from providing a single-use carryout bag to a customer at the point of sale, and prohibits full-service restaurants from providing single-use plastic straws to consumers unless requested by the consumer.	Letter of Support sent to Senate Committee on
			Proposed Law: This bill would require a business that accepts payment through cash, credit or debit transactions, subject to certain exceptions, to provide a proof of purchase to be provided to a consumer only at the consumer's option and would prohibit a business from printing a paper proof of purchase if the consumer opts to not receive a proof of purchase, unless otherwise required by state or federal law. The bill would prohibit a paper proof of purchase by a business from containing bisphenol A or bisphenol S, and from including items not essential to the transaction, including, but not limited to, coupons or advertisements. The bill would specify that the first and 2nd violations of that provision would result in a notice of violation and any subsequent violation would be punishable by a civil penalty of \$25 for each day the business is in violation, but not to exceed an annual total of \$300. The bill would authorize the Attorney General, a district attorney, or a city attorney to enforce the provision. The bill would make these provisions operative on January 1, 2022.	Appropriations on August 6, 2019. Letter of Support sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on July 1, 2019. Letter of Support sent to Senate Committee on

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
				Environmental Quality on June 27, 2019.
				Letter of Support sent to Senate Committee on the Judiciary on June 20, 2019.
AB 176	Cervantes	Amended June 12, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority Act establishes the California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority (CAEATFA). The act authorizes, until January 1, 2021, the authority to provide financial assistance in the form of a sales and use tax exclusion for projects, including those that promote California-based manufacturing, California-based jobs, advanced manufacturing, the reduction of greenhouse gases, or the reduction in air and water pollution or energy consumption. The act prohibits the sales and use tax exclusions from exceeding \$100,000,000 for each calendar year. The act requires the authority to evaluate a project application based on specified criteria, including, among others, the extent to which the project will create new, permanent jobs in the state.	
			Proposed Law: This bill instead would require CAEATFA to evaluate a project application for the extent to which the project will create new, or result in the loss of, permanent, full-time jobs in the state. This bill would include a change in state statute that would result in a taxpayer paying a higher tax within the meaning of Section 3 of Article XIII A of the California Constitution, and thus would require for passage the approval of 2/3 of the membership of each house of the Legislature. This bill would take effect immediately as a tax levy.	
AB 187	Cristina Garcia and Bigelow	Amended July 8, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The Used Mattress Recovery and Recycling Act, administered by CalRecycle, authorizes a mattress recycling organization to be established by a qualified industry association to develop, implement, and administer a mattress recycling program in the state. The act requires the organization to develop and submit to CalRecycle for approval a plan, including a budget to implement the plan, for the recovery and recycling of used mattresses. The act requires the organization to submit CalRecycle and make publicly available annual reports relating to the program. The act requires CalRecycle's director to appoint an advisory committee to be part of the organization. The act requires the organization to set the amount of	Letter of Support if Amended sent to Senate Committee on Appropriations on June 27, 2019. Letter of Support

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			a state mattress recycling charge to fund the recycling of used mattresses under the act that is added to the purchase price of a mattress, and authorizes the organization to change the amount of the charge. The act requires a mattress retailer to give a consumer the option to have a used mattress picked up, at no additional cost, at the time a new mattress is delivered. A violation of the act may be subject to an administrative civil penalty.	if Amended sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on June 12, 2019
			Proposed Law: This bill would revise and recast provisions of the act, including requiring the organization to review the plan and determine whether amendments to the plan are necessary every 5 years. The bill would require the organization to include additional specified information and goals in the plan, the budget, and the annual reports, and would require the advisory committee to prepare written recommendations for the organization. The bill would prohibit, commencing with the 2027â□"28 fiscal year, the organization's financial reserve from exceeding 60% of its annual operating expenses. The bill would prohibit the revenue from the charge from being expended for specified purposes. The bill would also require CalRecycle to establish a process and schedule for an orderly transition of responsibility from a decertified mattress recycling organization to a successor organization.	12, 2019.
AB 215	Mathis and Quirk		Existing Law: Prohibits dumping waste matter in or upon a public or private highway or road, in or upon private property into or upon which the public is admitted by easement or license, upon private property without the consent of the owner, or in or upon a public park or other public property. A violation of these provisions is an infraction punishable by a fine between \$250 and \$1,000 for a first conviction, between \$500 and \$1,500 for a 2nd conviction, and between \$750 and \$3,000 for a 3rd or subsequent conviction.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would make dumping waste matter on private property, including on any private road or highways, without the consent of the owner punishable by a fine between \$250 and \$1,000 for a first conviction, between \$500 and \$1,500 for a 2nd conviction, and between \$750 and \$3,000 for a 3rd conviction. The bill would make a 4th or subsequent conviction a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than 30 days and by a fine of not less than \$750 nor more than \$3,000. The bill would also require the fine to be doubled for the 4th or subsequent violation if the prosecuting attorney pleads and proves, or, in an infraction case, if the court finds, that the waste placed, deposited, or dumped includes used tires.	
AB 257	Mathis	Amended April 02, 2019.	Existing Law: The CalRecycle Greenhouse Gas Reduction Revolving Loan Program, administered by CalRecycle, was established to provide loans to reduce the emissions of	Watch.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
		Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	GHGs by promoting in-state development of infrastructure or other projects to reduce organic waste or process organic and other recyclable materials into new value-added products.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would create a 5-year woody biomass rural county collection and disposal pilot program, to be administered by CalRecycle, consisting of awarding funding to participating counties with a total population of less than 250,000 for the purpose of conducting community collection days at which individuals can dispose of woody biomass free of charge. The bill would require a county awarded funding under the program to contract with a local biomass conversion facility to collect and convert the biomass in a way that results in fewer greenhouse gases emitted than if the biomass had been disposed of. The bill would require CalRecycle to report specified program information to the Legislature after the conclusion of the program.	
AB 293	Eduardo Garcia	Enrolled July 5, 2019. Chaptered July 12, 2019.	Existing Law: The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 establishes the State Air Resources Board as the state agency responsible for monitoring and regulating sources emitting greenhouse gases. The act requires the state board to approve a statewide greenhouse gas emissions limit equivalent to the statewide greenhouse gas emissions level in 1990 to be achieved by 2020 and to ensure that statewide greenhouse gas emissions are reduced to at least 40% below the 1990 level by 2030. The act authorizes the state board to include the use of market-based compliance mechanisms. Existing law, until January 1, 2031, establishes the Compliance Offsets Protocol Task Force (COPTF) to provide guidance to the state board in approving new offset projects with direct environmental benefits in the state while prioritizing disadvantaged communities, Native American or tribal lands, and rural and agricultural regions.	Letter of Support if Amended / Oppose unless Amended sent to Senate Committee on Appropriations on June 20, 2019.
			Proposed Law: This bill would require the COPTF to consider the development of additional offset protocols, including, but not limited to, protocols for the enhanced management or conservation of agricultural and natural lands, and for the enhancement and restoration of wetlands. The bill would require the COPTF to develop recommendations for the state board on the inclusion of methodologies to allow groups of landowners to jointly develop natural and working lands offset projects under the approved offset protocols.	
AB 296	Cooley	Amended July 11, 2019.	Existing Law: The State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission is required to develop and implement the Electric Program Investment Charge program for the purpose of awarding funds to projects that may lead to technological advancement and	Letter of Support if Amended sent to Senate

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
	(Senate Committee on Appropriations.	breakthroughs to overcome barriers that prevent the achievement of the state's statutory energy goals and that may result in a portfolio of projects that are strategically focused and sufficiently narrow to make advancement on the most significant technological challenges. Existing law authorizes an individual to contribute amounts in excess of their personal income tax liability for the support of specified funds. Under existing law, there are general administrative provisions applicable to these voluntary contributions, which, among other things, provide for the disbursement of contributions following the repeal of the fund's provisions and require undesignated funds to be transferred to the General Fund. Existing law requires any new or extended voluntary contribution to include the words "voluntary tax contribution" in the name of the fund, to require the administering agency to include specified information about the fund on its internet website, to continuously appropriate from the fund the contributions made to the administering agency, to set a minimum contribution amount for the continuation of any voluntary tax contribution on the tax return form, and to include a generally applicable repeal date for a voluntary tax contribution.	Committee on Governance and Finance on July 3, 2019. Letter of Support if Amended sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on June 24, 2019.
			Proposed Law: This bill would establish the Climate Innovation Grant Program, to be administered by Strategic Growth Council or another entity identified by the council that it determines to have the appropriate skills necessary to successfully implement this program. The bill would establish the Climate Innovation Fund in the State Treasury and would continuously appropriate the moneys in the fund to the council for purposes of the program. Once the Climate Innovation Fund accrues \$2,000,000, the bill would require the council or the entity implementing the program to notify the Franchise Tax Board and would require the program to award grants for the development and research of new innovations and technologies that either reduce emissions of greenhouse gases or address impacts caused by climate change. The bill would repeal the program on January 1, 2031. This bill would allow an individual to designate on their tax return that a specified amount in excess of their personal income tax liability be transferred to the Climate Innovation Voluntary Tax Contribution Account, which would be created by this bill. The bill would conform with those aforementioned administrative requirements by continuously appropriating those funds to the Franchise Tax Board and the Controller for administrative costs and to the Climate Innovation Fund. The bill would also conform by requiring the Strategic Growth Council to comply with certain internet website reporting requirements. The bill would make the voluntary tax contribution provisions operative upon notification of the Franchise Tax Board that the fund has accrued \$2,000,000. The bill would repeal these provisions as of the sooner of December 1 of the year that the minimum contribution amount of \$250,000 is not met or by a specified repeal date.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
AB 343	Patterson	Amended April 1, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	 Existing Law: The Z'berg-Nejedly Forest Practice Act of 1973 prohibits a person from conducting timber operations, defined to mean the cutting or removal, or both, of timber or other solid wood forest products from timberlands for commercial purposes, unless a timber harvesting plan prepared by a registered professional forester has been submitted for the operations to the Department of Forestry and Fire Protection. The act provides an exception from its provisions for timber operations that involve the removal of trees less than 16 inches in diameter at breast height from a firebreak or fuelbreak if the removal meets specified requirements, including that the removed trees will not be processed into logs or lumber. The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 designates the State Air Resources Board (ARB) as the state agency charged with monitoring and regulating sources of emissions of greenhouse gases. The act authorizes the state ARB to include the use of market-based compliance mechanisms. Existing law requires all moneys, except for fines and penalties, collected by the state ARB as part of a market-based compliance mechanism to be deposited in the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund for appropriation. Proposed Law: This bill would require the Natural Resources Agency to develop and implement a fuels transportation program that provides competitive grants or other financial incentives for projects in eligible communities to offset the costs of transporting fuels to an eligible biomass facility, an innovative forest products facility, or a mass timber facility. The bill would authorize the agency to allocate moneys from the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund consistent with the purposes of the fund. 	
AB 353	Muratsuchi	Amended March 19, 2019. Senate Committee on Environmental Quality.	 Existing Law: The Sustainable Packaging for the State of California Act of 2018 prohibits a food service facility located in a state-owned facility, operating on or acting as a concessionaire on state property, or under contract to provide food service to a state agency from dispensing prepared food using a type of food service packaging unless the type of food service packaging is on a list that the Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery publishes and maintains on its internet website that contains types of approved food service packaging that are reusable, recyclable, or compostable. Proposed Law: This bill would specify that a food service facility is prohibited from dispensing prepared food using a type of food service packaging that is not on the department's published list only at a state-owned facility, on state property, or pursuant to a contract with a state agency. 	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
AB 383	Mayes and Friedman	Amended April 11, 2019. Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: Establishment of various state programs pertaining to energy technologies that advance environmental protection goals, including renewable energy resources, energy efficiency, energy conservation, weatherization, energy storage, distributed generation, and transportation electrification and other low-emission transportation technologies.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would establish the Clean Energy Financing Clearinghouse, a new office under the direction of the Treasurer, to coordinate all government programs that invest capital in clean energy technologies, as defined, that advance environmental protection goals; make program information clear and accessible for market participants; and partner with capital providers, investors, project developers, technology companies, and other market actors to catalyze more private investment into clean energy technologies that advance environmental protection and environmental justice goals. The bill would specify functions that the Clean Energy Financing Clearinghouse is to perform with respect to cross-agency coordination, partnering with market actors, and partnering with capital providers.	
AB 614	Eggman	Amended June 13, 2019 Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The Personal Income Tax Law and the Corporation Tax Law allow various credits against the taxes imposed by those laws, including, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, and before January 1, 2022, a credit for qualified taxpayers, defined as the person responsible for planting a crop, managing the crop, and harvesting the crop from the land, in an amount equal to 15% of the qualified value of fresh fruits or vegetables donated to a food bank.	Support.
			Proposed Law: This bill, under both laws, would expand the credit to apply to the donation of qualified donation items, defined as raw agricultural products or processed foods. The bill would expand the definition of qualified taxpayer to also include the person responsible for growing or raising a qualified donation item, or harvesting, packing, or processing a qualified donation item but would exclude a retailer from that expanded definition. The bill would apply these provisions to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020. This bill would take effect immediately as a tax levy.	
AB 619	Chiu	Enrolled July 3, 2019.	Existing Law: The California Retail Food Code provides for the regulation of health and sanitation standards for retail food facilities by the State Department of Public Health. Under existing law, local health agencies are primarily responsible for enforcing the California Retail Food Code, and a person who violates any provision of the code is guilty of a misdemeanor.	Letter of Support and Amend sent to Senate Committee on

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
		Chaptered July 12, 2019.	Existing law requires returned empty containers intended for refilling with food or beverage to be cleaned and refilled in an approved facility, except that consumer-owned containers may be refilled and returned to the same consumer if the container is refilled by an employee of the food facility or the owner of the container and the dispensing system includes a contamination-free transfer process. Existing law defines a temporary food facility, for purposes of the California Retail Food Code, as a food facility approved by the enforcement officer that operates at a fixed location for the duration of an approved community event or at a swap meet and only as a part of the community event or swap meet. Under existing law, a temporary food facility is required to provide single-use articles for use by the consumer.	Appropriations on June 17, 2019. Letter of Support and Amend sent to Senate Committee on Health on May 23, 2019.
			Proposed Law: This bill would instead provide that clean consumer-owned containers provided or returned to the food facility for filling may be filled by either the employee or the owner of the container and would require the food facility to isolate the consumer-owned containers from the serving surface or sanitize the serving surface after each filling. The bill would require the food facility to prepare, maintain, and adhere to written procedures to prevent cross-contamination, and to make the written procedures available to the enforcement agency. This bill would authorize a local enforcement agency to allow a temporary food facility to use multiuse utensils that are cleaned, rinsed, and sanitized at either the temporary food facility or an approved food facility.	
AB 655	Fong	Introduced February 15, 2019 In Assembly Pending Referral.	Existing Law: As part of the hazardous waste control law, a facility handling hazardous waste is required to apply for and obtain a hazardous waste facilities permit from the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC). Existing law requires that a hazardous waste facilities permit be for a fixed term not to exceed 10 years for certain facilities. Existing law requires the owner or operator of a facility intending to extend the facility's permit to submit a complete Part A application for a permit renewal before the fixed term of the permit expires and, at any time following the submittal of the Part A application, to submit a complete Part B application, or any portion of that application, and other relevant information, if requested by DTSC. Existing law requires a person who applies for, or requests, a renewal of an existing hazardous waste facilities permit to enter into a written agreement with DTSC pursuant to which that person is required to reimburse DTSC for the costs incurred by DTSC in processing the renewal application.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			Proposed Law: This bill would require DTSC to process a hazardous waste facilities permit renewal application in an expedited manner, if DTSC determines that certain conditions are met, including that operations at the hazardous waste facility have not changed since the approval of the permit in effect at the time the renewal application is submitted. The bill would require DTSC to cease processing a hazardous waste facilities application in an expedited manner if the hazardous waste facilities one or more of the specified conditions. The bill would provide that the expedited permit renewal process is not available for land disposal facilities. The bill also would repeal certain legislative findings and declarations relating to a 2016 act that affected charges for hazardous waste facilities permit applications.	
AB 729	Chu	Amended July 5, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: (1) Requires a manufacturer of carpets sold in this state to submit, either individually or through a carpet stewardship organization, a carpet stewardship plan that meets specified requirements to CalRecycle, and requires CalRecycle to approve or disapprove the plan. Existing law imposes a carpet stewardship assessment per unit of carpet sold in the state that is remitted by carpet manufacturers to the carpet stewardship organization and may be expended to carry out the organization's carpet stewardship plan. Existing law authorizes CalRecycle to administratively impose civil penalties on any person who is in violation of any provision of the carpet stewardship laws, of up to \$1,000 per day or \$10,000 per day if the violation is intentional, knowing, or negligent. (2) Existing law requires a carpet stewardship organization submitting a carpet stewardship plan to pay to the department a quarterly administrative fee, as specified. Existing law prohibits the total amount of the administratively impose civil penalties on for a calendar year. (3) Existing law authorizes the department to administratively impose civil penalties on any provision of the carpet stewardship and the state to the preceding calendar year. (4) This bill would also make conforming changes and repeal obsolete provisions.	August 1, 2019. Letter of Support sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on June 28, 2019. Letter of Support and Amend sent to Senate Committee on Environmental
			Proposed Law: (1) This bill would, among other things, require a carpet stewardship organization to include in the carpet stewardship plan a contingency plan should the carpet stewardship plan expire without approval of a new carpet stewardship plan or should the carpet stewardship plan be revoked. The bill would require a carpet stewardship organization to set up a trust fund or an escrow account, into which the bill would require the organization to deposit all unexpended funds and ongoing consumer assessments, for use in the event that the carpet stewardship plan terminates or is revoked. The bill would require, if a carpet	Quality on June 4, 2019. Letter of Support and Amend sent to Senate Judiciary

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			stewardship plan is revoked or terminated, the trustee or escrow agent to accept carpet stewardship assessment payments directly from manufacturers and to make payments from the trust fund or escrow account as the CalRecycle directs to implement the most recently approved carpet stewardship plan. The bill would authorize CalRecycle, if a new carpet stewardship plan has not been approved within one year after termination or revocation, to make modifications to the previously approved plan and continue to direct payments from the trust fund or escrow account to implement the modified plan. This bill would repeal certain provisions relating to the carpet stewardship assessment and would replace the assessment with differential assessments that take into account the financial burden that a particular carpet material has on the stewardship program, and the amount of postconsumer recycled content contained in a particular carpet. (2) This bill would repeal the prohibition on the total amount of the administrative fees to be paid to CalRecycle. (3) This bill would increase the former penalty amount to \$5,000 per day. (4) This bill would also make conforming changes and repeal obsolete provisions.	Committee on June 4, 2019. Letter of Support and Amend sent to Assembly Committee on Appropriations on May 15, 2019. Letter of Support and Amend sent to Assembly Committee on Natural Resources on April 18, 2019.
AB 753	Eduardo Garcia	Amended May 20, 2019. Senate Committee on Transportation & Committee on Environmental Quality.	 Existing Law: The California Alternative and Renewable Fuel, Vehicle Technology, Clean Air, and Carbon Reduction Act of 2007, which includes the Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Program, is administered by the State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission (CEC), and the Air Quality Improvement Program, administered by the State Air Resources Board (ARB). Existing law requires the Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Program to provide funding measures to certain entities to develop and deploy innovative technologies that transform California's fuel and vehicle types to help attain the state's climate change policies. Existing law requires CEC to give preference to those projects that maximize the goals of the program. Proposed Law: This bill would require CEC to make available of the moneys available for allocation as part of the Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Program 	
			the state and to research, develop, produce, and deploy innovative and emerging fuels.	
AB 755	Holden	Amended May 16, 2019.	Existing Law: The California Tire Recycling Act, until January 1, 2024, requires a person who purchases a new tire to pay a California tire fee of \$1.75 per tire, for deposit, except for 1.5% retained by retailers and as provided below, in the California Tire Recycling Management Fund	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
		Assembly Floor.	for expenditure by CalRecycle upon appropriation by the Legislature for prescribed purposes related to disposal and use of used tires. Commencing January 1, 2024, existing law reduces the California tire fee to \$0.75 per tire and changes the retailers' share to 3%. Existing law authorizes the department, in carrying out the act, to solicit and use any and all expertise available in, and to contractor cooperate with, other state agencies, as provided. Existing law authorizes the department to contract with the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration to collect the California tire fee. Existing law requires the department, or its authorized agent, to be reimbursed for its costs of collection, auditing, and making refunds associated with the California Tire Recycling Management Fund, in an amount up to 3% of the total annual revenue deposited in the fund. Existing law, until January 1, 2024, requires that \$0.75 per tire be deposited in the Air Pollution Control Fund with these moneys to be available upon appropriation by the Legislature for use by the State Air Resources Board and local air districts to fund programs and projects that mitigate or remediate air pollution caused by tires in the state.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would require the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration to collect the California tire fee and would repeal the provision authorizing the Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery to solicit and use the expertise of, and contract or cooperate with, other state agencies. The bill would increase the California tire fee by \$1.50. The bill would require the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration to transfer the additional moneys to the Stormwater Permit Compliance Fund, which would be established by the bill, and would make the moneys available to the State Water Resources Control Board. The bill would continuously appropriate moneys in the fund for competitive grants for projects and programs for municipal storm sewer system permit compliance requirements that would prevent or remediate pollutants, including zinc, caused by tires in the state and for an annual audit of the fund. Money in the fund would be available upon appropriation for the administrative expenses of the fund, not to exceed 5% of the overall revenue annually deposited in the fund. The bill would revise and recast the provisions governing payments and transfers from the California Tire Recycling Management Fund. The bill would require the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, instead of the Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery, to be reimbursed for its costs of collection, auditing, and making refunds associated with the California Tire Recycling Management Fund, in an amount up to 2.5% of the total annual revenue deposited in the fund.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
AB 792	Ting	Amended July 5, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: (1) The California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act requires every beverage container sold or offered for sale in this state to have a minimum refund value. Under the act, the CalRecycle is required to calculate a processing fee for each beverage container with a specified scrap value, which is required to be paid by beverage manufacturers for each beverage container sold or transferred to a distributor or dealer. CalRecycle is required to calculate the processing fee in a specified manner so that the actual processing fee generally equals 65% of the processing payment that CalRecycle is required to pay to processors if the scrap value of the container having a refund value pursuant to the act is less than the cost of recycling. (2) Existing law requires a manufacturer of a beverage sold in a plastic beverage container subject to the California Redemption Value, as specified, to annually report to the department the amount of virgin plastic and postconsumer recycled plastic used by the manufacturer for plastic beverage containers subject to the California Redemption Value for sale in the state in the previous calendar year. Existing law provides that a violation of the act or a regulation adopted pursuant to the act is a crime. (3) Existing law requires all rigid plastic bottles and rigid plastic containers sold in the state to be labeled with a code indicating the resin used to produce the rigid plastic content pursuant to a tiered plan that would require the total number of plastic beverage containers for a violation of these required amounts of plastic content on and after January 1, 2021, would require the total number of plastic beverage manufacturer for a violation of these requirements. The bill would authorize CalRecycle to enforce these provisions and would authorize CalRecycle to enduce the avoid times for a violation of these requirements. The bill would authorize CalRecycle to enforce these provisions and would authorize CalRecycle to severage manufacturer for the	Letter of Support if Amended sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on June 27, 2019 Floor Alert of Support sent to Assembly on May 23, 2019.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			By requiring that the information be submitted under penalty of perjury, this bill would expand the crime of perjury and impose a state-mandated local program. This bill would specify that the above labeling requirement does not apply to rigid plastic containers or rigid plastic bottles that are medical devices, medical products that are required to be sterile, prescription medicine, and packaging used for those products.	
AB 793	Ting	Amended April 01, 2019. Senate Committee on Environmental Quality.	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, which is administered by CalRecycle, requires each city, county, and regional agency to develop a source reduction and recycling element of an integrated waste management plan. The act defines "biomass conversion" to mean the production of heat, fuels, or electricity by the controlled combustion of, or the use of other non-combustion thermal conversion technologies on, specified materials when separated from other solid waste.	
		eddinty.	Proposed Law: This bill would revise that definition of "biomass conversion" and would define "biomass" for purposes of the act. The bill would also update cross references to those definitions.	
AB 794	Ting	Introduced February 20, 2019 Committee on	Existing Law: The California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act, which is administered by CalRecycle, is established to promote beverage container recycling and provides for the payment, collection, and distribution of certain payments and fees based on minimum refund values established for beverage containers.	
		Appropriations.	Proposed Law: This bill would require CalRecycle to conduct a study on the changes to the international recycling market since January 1, 2018, and provide by January 1, 2021, recommendations to the Legislature on how to foster more recycling of beverage container materials within the state.	
AB 804	Ting	Introduced February 20, 2019. Assembly Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials.	Existing Law: A stewardship program, under which a manufacturer or distributor of covered drugs or sharps, or other entity defined to be covered by the bill, would be required to establish and implement, either on its own or as part of a group of covered entities through membership in a stewardship organization, a stewardship program for covered products, which is defined to include home-generated sharps waste. Existing law, for purposes of the stewardship program, defines "home-generated sharps waste" to mean hypodermic needles, pen needles, intravenous needles, lancets, and other devices that are used to penetrate the skin for the delivery of medications derived from a household, including a multifamily residence or household. Existing law requires a pharmaceutical manufacturer that sells or distributes a	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			medication in California that is usually intended to be self-injected at home through the use of a hypodermic needle, pen needle, intravenous needle, or any other similar device, to annually submit to CalRecycle and post on its internet website a plan that describes how the manufacturer supports the safe collection and proper disposal of the waste devices.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would provide that a pharmaceutical manufacturer is not required to submit or post that annual plan if the devices it uses for the injection of that medication are covered products, including home-generated sharps waste, pursuant to the provisions establishing the above-mentioned stewardship program.	
AB 815	Aguiar- Curry	Amended June 27, 2019. Senate Floor.	 Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by CalRecycle, establishes an integrated waste management program. Existing law requires each city, county, and regional agency to develop a source reduction and recycling element and a household hazardous waste element of an integrated waste management plan. The act requires the source reduction and recycling element to divert from disposal 50% of all solid waste subject to the element through source reduction, recycling, and composting activities. Existing law requires a city, county, or regional agency to submit an annual report to CalRecycle to review a jurisdiction's compliance with the diversion requirements every 2 or 4 years, and requires CalRecycle to issue an order of compliance if CalRecycle finds the jurisdiction failed to make a good faith effort to implement its source reduction and recycling element or household hazardous waste element. After issuing an order of compliance, existing law authorizes CalRecycle to consider whether the jurisdiction has implemented a dual stream recycling program when considering if the jurisdiction has made a good faith effort to implement or household hazardous waste agood faith effort to implement or household has a good faith effort to implement or household has a good faith effort to consider whether the jurisdiction has implemented a dual stream recycling program when considering if the jurisdiction has made a good faith effort to implement or household has a good faith effort to implement or household has a good faith effort to implement or household has a good faith effort to implement the jurisdiction has made a good faith effort to implement the jurisdiction has made a good faith effort to implement et a dual stream recycling program when considering if the jurisdiction has made a good faith effort to implement its source reduction and recycling element or household has a good faith effort to implement its source reduction and recycling element or household has a	Letter of Oppose Unless Amended sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on May 24, 2019.
AB 827	McCarthy	Amended June 6, 2019.	Existing Law: A business that generates 4 cubic yards or more of commercial solid waste or 8 cubic yards or more of organic waste per week is required to arrange for recycling services.	Letter of Support if Amended sent to Senate
		Senate Floor.	Proposed Law: This bill would require a business subject to either of those requirements that provides customers access to the business to provide customers with a recycling bin for that waste stream that is visible, easily accessible, and clearly marked with educational signage.	Committee on Appropriations on June 20, 2019.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			The bill would exempt full-service restaurants from its requirements. The bill would also require CalRecycle to, on or before January 1, 2021, develop model signage that commercial and organic waste generators may utilize to mark the recycling bins provided to customers.	
AB 886	Eggman	Introduced February 20, 2019. Assembly Committee on	Existing Law: Until January 1, 2020, an operator of a store is required to establish an at-store recycling program that provides to customers the opportunity to return clean plastic carryout bags to that store, and requires a manufacturer of plastic carryout bags to develop educational materials to encourage the reduction, reuse, and recycling of plastic bags and make those materials available to those stores.	
		Natural Resources.	Proposed Law: This bill would extend the operation of those requirements to January 1, 2021.	
AB 1046	Ting.	Amended July 5, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	 Existing Law: Establishes the Air Quality Improvement Program that is administered by the State Air Resources Board (ARB) for the purposes of funding projects related to the reduction of criteria air pollutants and improvement of air quality. Pursuant to its existing statutory authority, the state ARB has established the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project, as a part of the Air Quality Improvement Program, to promote the use of zero-emission vehicles by providing rebates for the purchase of new zero-emission vehicles. Proposed Law: This bill would require the state ARB to develop a plan to provide for the 	
			continuous funding of the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project. The bill would authorize the Treasurer to securitize revenues for which the state ARB has existing authority to establish a continuous funding source for the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project.	
AB 1080	Gonzalez, Calderon, Friedman, and Ting	Amended July 11, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste, including single-use plastic straws. The Sustainable Packaging for the State of California Act of 2018 prohibits a food service facility located in a state-owned facility, operating on or acting as a concessionaire on state property, or under contract to provide food service to a state agency from dispensing prepared food using a type of food service packaging unless the type of food service packaging is on a list that CalRecycle publishes and maintains on its internet website that contains types of approved food service packaging that are reusable, recyclable, or compostable. Existing law makes a legislative declaration that it is the policy goal of the state that not less than 75% of solid waste generated be source reduced, recycled, or composted by 2020.	Letter of Support if Amended / Oppose Unless Amended sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on June 24, 2019. Floor Alert of

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			Proposed Law: This bill would enact the California Circular Economy and Plastic Pollution Reduction Act, which would require the department, before January 1, 2024, to adopt regulations that require covered entities, to source reduce, to the maximum extent feasible, single-use packaging and priority single-use plastic products, and to ensure that by 2030 all single-use packaging and priority single-use plastic products in the California market are recyclable or compostable. The bill would require those regulations to achieve, by 2030, a 75% reduction of the waste generated from single-use packaging, and a 75% reduction of the waste generated from single-use packaging, and a 75% reduction of the waste generated from single-use packaging, and a 75% reduction of the waste generated from all other single-use products offered for sale or sold in the state through source reduction, recycling, or composting, and would establish a policy goal to achieve, by 2030, a 75% reduction of the waste generated from all other single-use products offered for sale or sold in the state through source reduction, recycling, or composting. The bill would require CalRecycle, before adopting the regulations, to develop a scoping plan. The bill would require CalRecycle to develop criteria to determine which types of single-use packaging or priority single-use plastic products are reusable, recyclable, or compostable. The bill would require local governments, solid waste facilities, recycling facilities, and composing facilities to provide information requested by the department for purposes of developing that criteria. By imposing additional duties on local governments, the bill would anthorize the department to impose a higher recycling rate as a condition of sale, as specified. The bill would require the department to create, update, and post on its internet website a list of recycling rates of single-use plastic products. The bill would require for on the state through source recycling, as a condition of sale of single-use plastic p	Support if Amended sent to Assembly on May 21, 2019. Letter of Support if Amended sent to Assembly Committee on Appropriations on May 10, 2019.
AB 1156	Eduardo Garcia	Amended April 30, 2019. Assembly	Existing Law: The State Air Resources Board (ARB) is required to approve and begin implementing a comprehensive strategy to reduce emissions of short-lived climate pollutants in the state to achieve a reduction in methane by 40%, hydrofluorocarbon gases by 40%, and anthropogenic black carbon by 50% below 2013 levels by 2030. Existing law requires the state	Oppose Unless Amended.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
		Committee on Appropriations.	ARB, in consultation with the Department of Food and Agriculture, to adopt regulations to reduce methane emissions from livestock manure management operations and dairy manure management operations consistent with the strategy. The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 establishes the state ARB as the state agency responsible for monitoring and regulating sources emitting greenhouse gases (GHGs). The act requires the state ARB to approve a statewide GHG emissions limit equivalent to the statewide GHG emissions level in 1990 to be achieved by 2020 and to ensure that statewide GHG emissions are reduced to at least 40% below the 1990 level by 2030. Pursuant to the act, the state ARB has adopted the Low-Carbon Fuel Standard regulations. Existing law requires the state ARB to develop a pilot financial mechanism to reduce the economic uncertainty associated with the value of environmental credits, including specified credits from dairy-related projects producing low-carbon transportation fuels. Existing law requires the state ARB to make recommendations to the Legislature for expanding this mechanism to other sources of biogas.	
			Proposed Law: This bill instead would require the Treasurer, in consultation with the state ARB, to develop and implement no later than January 1, 2021, a pilot financial mechanism to reduce the economic uncertainty associated with the value of environmental credits. The bill would no longer require the state ARB to make recommendations to the Legislature for expanding this program to other sources of biogas and instead would authorize the Treasurer, in consultation with the state ARB, to expand this mechanism to other sources of very low carbon transportation fuel. This bill would establish the Environmental Credit Insurance Program, to be administered by the Treasurer in consultations credit market for very low carbon transportation fuel or negative-carbon transportation fuel development projects by providing payments to project applicants for the difference between the strike price and environmental credit price if the environmental Credit Insurance Fund in the State Treasury with moneys in the fund to be allocated, upon appropriation by the Legislature, by the Treasurer for the purposes of the Environmental Credit Insurance Fund in the purposes.	
AB 1162	Kalra	Amended July 11, 2019. Senate	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by the CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste. The act prohibits certain stores from providing a single-use carryout bag to a customer at the point of sale and prohibits full-service restaurants from providing single-use plastic straws to consumers unless requested by the consumer.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
		Committee on Appropriations.	Proposed Law: This bill, commencing January 1, 2023, would prohibit a lodging establishment, from providing a small plastic bottle containing a personal care product to a person staying in a sleeping room accommodation, in any space within the sleeping room accommodation, or in an area that is shared by the public or guests. The bill would require a local agency with authority to inspect sleeping accommodations in a lodging establishment to notify lodging establishments of this requirement no less than one year before the requirement would become operative. The bill would authorize a state or local agency with authority to inspect sleeping accommodations in a lodging establishments by issuing a citation, provided that the agency be required to issue a written warning upon a first violation of the above requirement, and to impose a penalty in the amount of \$500 for a 2nd or subsequent violation, not to exceed \$2,000 annually. Because the bill would impose new duties on local agencies, the bill would impose a state-mandated local program. The bill would provide that a lodging establishment that is in violation of the above requirement is liable for a civil penalty in the amount of \$500 for a first violation and \$2,000 for a 2nd or subsequent violation and would authorize the Attorney General or a district attorney, county counsel, or city attorney to bring an action to impose the civil penalty. The bill would prohibit, on and after January 1, 2020, a city, county, or city and county from passing or enforcing an ordinance, resolution, regulation, or rule relating to personal care products in plastic bottles provided at lodging establishments, except as provided.	
AB 1163	Eggman	Amended March 19, 2019. Assembly Committee on Privacy and Consumer Protection.	Existing Law: Every manufacturer making an express warranty with respect to an electronic or appliance product, including, among others, televisions, radios, audio or video recording equipment, major home appliances, antennas, and rotators, with a wholesale price to the retailer of not less than \$50 nor more than \$99.99 is required to make available to service and repair facilities sufficient service literature and functional parts to effect the repair of the product for at least 3 years after the date a product model or type was manufactured, regardless of whether the 3-year period exceeds the warranty period for the product. Existing law also requires every manufacturer making an express warranty with respect to an electronic or appliance product with a wholesale price to the retailer of \$100 or more, to make available to service and repair of the product for at least 7 years after the date a product model or type was manufactured, regardless of whether the 7-year period exceeds the warranty period for the product for the product for at least 7 years after the date a product model or type was manufactured, regardless of whether the 7-year period exceeds the warranty period for the product for the product for at least 7 years after the date a product model or type was manufactured, regardless of whether the 7-year period exceeds the warranty period for the product.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			Proposed Law: This bill would instead require the manufacturer, in the above-described circumstances and timeframes, to make available sufficient service literature, at no charge, and functional parts, on fair and reasonable terms to owners of the equipment or products, service and repair facilities, and service dealers. The bill would also expand the category of products to which these provisions apply to include certain accessories used in connection with an antenna or rotator installation or repair, computer systems, video games, and direct satellite signal receiving equipment.	
AB 1171	Chen	Amended March 28, 2019. Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste. The act prohibits certain stores from providing a single-use carryout bag to a customer at the point of sale and prohibits full-service restaurants from providing single-use plastic straws to consumers unless requested by the consumer. The act requires each city and county, and each regional agency formed pursuant to the act, to develop a source reduction and recycling element of an integrated waste management plan to divert 50% of all solid waste, through source reduction, recycling, and composting activities.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would prohibit a city, county, city and county, or other local public agency from requiring a grocery store to use a certain type of food packaging for any food sold in the grocery store unless the majority of residential households within the jurisdiction of the local agency have access to a curbside program that accepts the material from which that food packaging is made. The bill would prohibit those local agencies from prohibiting a grocery store from using a certain type of food packaging for any food sold in the grocery store if a majority of residential households within the jurisdiction of the local agency have access to a curbside program that accepts the material from which that food packaging is made. The bill would prohibit those local agencies from prohibiting a grocery store if a majority of residential households within the jurisdiction of the local agency have access to a curbside program that accepts the material from which that food packaging is made. The bill would require a local agency, if it requires a grocery store to use a certain type of food packaging, to identify the type of food packaging using standardized specifications, active at the time of the enactment of the requirement, from an established national or international organization.	
AB 1216	Bauer- Kahan	Amended March 26, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: It is unlawful to dump waste matter in certain locations, such as upon a public or private highway or road, upon private property without the consent of the owner, or in or upon a public park or other public property. Existing law also makes it unlawful to place, deposit, or dump rocks, concrete, asphalt, or dirt in certain locations. Existing law makes a person who violates these provisions guilty of an infraction punishable by specified fines.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			Existing law also makes it a misdemeanor to place, deposit, or dump waste matter in commercial quantities in certain locations.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would authorize the counties of Alameda and Contra Costa to establish a pilot program to employ 2 law enforcement officers, one from each county, solely for the purpose of enforcing dumping laws in those counties. The bill would require the counties to jointly submit a report to the Legislature evaluating the program on or before July 1, 2021.	
AB 1228	Calderon	Amended April 30, 2019.	Existing Law: The Personal Income Tax Law and the Corporation Tax Law allow various credits against the taxes imposed by those laws.	
		Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation.	Proposed Law: This bill would allow a credit against those taxes for each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2025, to a qualified taxpayer, as defined, in an amount equal to 20% of the costs paid or incurred during the taxable year by the qualified taxpayer for the purchase of compostable cutlery. This bill would take effect immediately as a tax levy.	
AB 1236	Lackey and Flora.	Amended April 11, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: (1) The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 designates the State Air Resources Board (ARB) as the state agency charged with monitoring and regulating sources of emissions of greenhouse gases (GHGs). The act authorizes the state ARB to include the use of market-based compliance mechanisms. The act authorizes the state ARB to adopt a regulation that establishes a system of market-based declining annual aggregate emissions limits for sources or categories of sources that emit GHGs, applicable from January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2030. (2) Existing law requires all moneys, except for fines and penalties, collected by the state ARB as part of a market-based compliance mechanism to be deposited in the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund and to be available upon appropriation. Existing law continuously appropriates 35% of the annual proceeds of the fund for transit, affordable housing, and sustainable communities programs and 25% of the annual proceeds of the fund for certain components of a specified high-speed rail project. (3) Existing law, the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA), requires a lead agency to prepare, or cause to be prepared, and certify the completion of an environmental impact report on a project that it proposes to carry out or approve that may have a significant effect on the environment or to adopt a negative declaration if it finds that the project will not have that effect. CEQA also requires a lead agency to prepare a mitigated negative declaration for a project that may have a significant effect on the environment if revisions in the project would avoid or mitigate that	Letter of Support and Amend sent to Assembly Committee on Appropriations on May 15, 2019. Letter of Support and Amend sent to Assembly Committee on Natural Resources on April 19, 2019.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			effect and there is no substantial evidence that the project, as revised, would have a significant effect on the environment. CEQA exempts certain projects from its requirements. (4) The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, which is administered by CalRecycle, generally regulates the management and recycling of solid waste.	
			Proposed Law: (1) This bill, no later than January 1, 2022, would require the state ARB for a market-based compliance mechanism applicable from January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2030, to investigate the potential for a carbon offset compliance protocol for recycled product manufacturing. (2) This bill would authorize \$200,000,000 from the annual proceeds of the fund to be subsequently appropriated to the CalRecycle for the department's Recycled Fiber, Plastic, and Glass Grant Program. (3) This bill would require CalRecycle, no later than January 1, 2023, to prepare a program environmental impact report for organic waste composting facilities. The bill would require the Office of Planning and Research, in consultation with the department, to identify and report to the appropriate fiscal and policy committees of the Legislature on the regulatory barriers and opportunities to streamline local and state approval processes to help facilitate the achievement of the state's recycling and renewable energy generation goals. (4) This bill would establish the Recycled Materials Innovation Grant Program to be administered by the department, in collaboration with the Office of Planning and Research, to offer competitive grants to create innovative uses for recyclable materials that have not historically been recycled domestically, as specified. The bill would require the department to develop administrative guidelines and other requirements for the administration of the program.	
AB 1357	Quirk	Introduced February 22, 2019 Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) generally regulates the management and handling of hazardous waste and hazardous materials. Existing law requires a facility handling hazardous waste to obtain a hazardous waste facilities permit from DTSC and authorizes DTSC to enforce the requirements of the hazardous waste control laws through various means, including conducting inspections, issuing orders requiring that violations be corrected, and imposing administrative penalties.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would require DTSC to hold at least 4 public meetings each calendar year to present on recent and upcoming decisions or actions relating to permitted hazardous waste facilities, hazardous waste cleanup sites, and the enforcement of the hazardous waste control laws. The bill would require the Director of DTSC or his or her designee to be present	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			and to run the meetings, and would require the department to provide time at each meeting for public testimony.	
AB 1406	O'Donnell	Amended July 2, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: Establishes the California Alternative and Renewable Fuel, Vehicle Technology, Clean Air, and Carbon Reduction Act of 2007, which includes the Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Program, administered by the State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission (CEC). Existing law requires the CEC, as part of the Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Program, to provide funding measures to certain entities to develop and deploy innovative technologies that transform California's fuel and vehicle types to help attain the state's climate change policies. Existing law requires the CEC to give preference to those projects that maximize the goals of the program based on specified criteria.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would require the commission, until January 1, 2024, to and no less than 10% of the moneys available for allocation as part of the program for alternative fuel and advanced technology vehicles.	
AB 1462	Santiago	Amended April 11, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	 Existing Law: The Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Act of 2016, prohibits a person from disposing of, or attempting to dispose of, a lead-acid battery at a solid waste facility or on or in any land, surface waters, watercourses, or marine waters, but authorizes a person to dispose of a lead-acid battery at certain locations. Imposes a fee on manufacturers of lead-acid batteries for each lead-acid battery sold at retail to a person in California, or sold to a dealer, wholesaler, distributor, or other person for retail sale in California, and imposes a fee on a person who purchases a replacement lead-acid battery from a dealer. Creates in the State Treasury the Lead-Acid Battery Cleanup Fund and requires that the fees collected pursuant to the act, except for specified administrative expenses, be deposited into the fund. Requires that moneys in the fund be expended for including for investigation, site evaluation, cleanup, remedial action, removal, monitoring, or other response actions at any area of the state that is reasonably suspected to have been contaminated by the operation of a lead-acid battery recycling facility. Proposed Law: This bill would transfer \$100,000,000 as a loan from the General Fund to the Toxic Substances Control Account and would appropriate these funds to the Department of 	
			Toxic Substances Control Account and would appropriate these funds to the Department of Toxic Substances Control for activities related to accelerating the investigation and cleanup of homes and communities in a specified area that have lead contamination levels that exceed 80 parts per million, to be available for expenditure until July 1, 2021.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
AB 1488	Burke	Amended April 11, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act requires every beverage container sold or offered for sale in this state to have a minimum refund value. Under the act, CalRecycle is required to calculate a processing fee for each beverage container with a specified scrap value, which is required to be paid by beverage manufacturers for each beverage container sold or transferred to a distributor or dealer. The act requires a manufacturer of a beverage sold in a plastic beverage container subject to the California Redemption Value to annually report to CalRecycle under penalty of perjury the amount of virgin plastic and postconsumer recycled plastic used by the manufacturer for plastic beverage containers subject to the California Redemption Value for sale in the state in the previous calendar year.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would require a reclaimer, on or before March 1, 2020, and annually thereafter, to report to CalRecycle under penalty of perjury the amount of empty plastic beverage containers that it collected, washed, and processed in the state in the previous calendar year into flake, pellet, sheet, or any other form and into food grade flake, pellet, or sheet, or any other food grade form. The bill would require CalRecycle to disseminate standardized forms for these reporting provisions and would require a manufacturer of a beverage sold in a plastic beverage container and a reclaimer to use those forms. By expanding the crime of perjury and creating new crimes relating to beverage containers, the bill would impose a state-mandated local program.	
AB 1509	Mullin and Berman	Amended May 01, 2019. Senate Committee on Environmental Quality.	 Existing Law: The Rechargeable Battery Recycling Act of 2006 requires every retailer to have in place a system for the acceptance and collection of used rechargeable batteries for reuse, recycling, or proper disposal. Existing law requires the system for the acceptance and collection of used rechargeable batteries to include, at a minimum the take-back of a used rechargeable battery of the type or brand that the retailer sold or previously sold at no cost to the consumer. Existing law defines "rechargeable battery" for purposes of these provisions to mean a small, non-vehicular, rechargeable nickel-cadmium, nickel metal hydride, lithium-ion, or sealed lead-acid battery, or a battery pack containing these types of batteries. Proposed Law: This bill would establish the Lithium-Ion Battery Recycling Program in CalRecycle. The bill would require a covered entity, as defined, on or before March 1, 2021, to provide a list of covered products that it sells or offers for sale in the state to the department and the total number of each covered product it sold in the state during the prior year, and to update those lists annually. The bill would define "covered product" to mean a lithium-ion 	Floor Alert of Support sent to Assembly on May 21, 2019. Letters of Support sent to Assembly Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials & Assembly Committee on Natural

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			battery sold separately or sold with a product, or a product containing a lithium-ion battery or battery pack that is not designed to be removed from the product by a consumer. The bill would require a covered entity to annually achieve specified collection and recycling rates for covered products. The bill would require a covered entity to establish a stewardship program for covered batteries independently or as part of a group of covered entities through membership in a stewardship organization. The bill would authorize a covered entity to achieve the recycling rates for covered battery-embedded products through any of specified mechanisms, including through a take-back program in which the retailer offers consumers covered battery-embedded product take-back services through collection receptacles or a mail-back program. The bill would require a covered entity to pay the CalRecycle an administrative fee, set by CalRecycle at an amount that, when paid by every covered entity, is adequate to cover CalRecycle's, and any other state agencies', full costs of administering and enforcing this program. The bill would require CalRecycle to deposit those administrative fees in the Lithium-Ion Battery Recycling Cost of Implementation Account, which would be established by the bill, and would authorize the expenditure of those funds, upon appropriation by the Legislature, for certain purposes. The bill would require CalRecycle, on or before January 1, 2022, to adopt regulations to implement the program. This bill would also state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation to amend the Electronic Waste Recycling Act of 2003 to allow for the recovery and recycling of lithium-ion batteries and products containing lithium-ion batteries under the existing program established by the act.	Resources on April 2, 2019.
AB 1583	Eggman	Amended May 20, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: (1) All rigid plastic bottles and rigid plastic containers sold in the state to be labeled with a code that indicates the resin used to produce the bottles or containers, with specified numbers and letters placed in relation to a triangle. (2) Existing law requires CalRecycle to develop a comprehensive market development plan that will stimulate market demand in the state for postconsumer waste material and secondary waste material generated in the state. Existing law authorizes a local governing body to propose eligible property within its jurisdiction as a recycling market development zone, and authorizes CalRecycle to designate recycling market development zones. (3) Existing law creates the Recycling Market Development Revolving Loan Subaccount and continuously appropriates the funds deposited in the subaccount to CalRecycle for making loans and payments to specified entities within the recycling Market Development Revolving Loan Program. Existing law makes these provisions inoperative on July 1, 2021. (4) Existing sales and use tax laws impose taxes on retailers measured by the gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal property sold at retail in this	Watch

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			state, or on the storage, use, or other consumption in this state of tangible personal property purchased from a retailer for storage, use, or other consumption in this state. The California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority Act establishes the California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority. The act authorizes, until January 1, 2021, the authority to provide financial assistance to a participating party in the form of specified sales and use tax exclusions for projects, including those that promote California-based manufacturing, California-based jobs, advanced manufacturing, reduction of greenhouse gases, or reduction in air and water pollution or energy consumption. The act prohibits the sales and use tax exclusions from exceeding \$100,000,000 for each calendar year. The Sales and Use Tax Law, for the purposes of the taxes imposed pursuant to that law, until January 1, 2021, excludes the lease or transfer of title of tangible personal property constituting a project to any contractor for use in the performance of a construction contract for a participating party that will use that property as an integral part of the approved project.	
			Proposed Law: (1) This bill would delete the prescribed description of that triangle. (2) This bill would require CalRecycle to convene a Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling and would require the commission to, among other things, issue policy recommendations to achieve specified market development goals and waste reduction goals and provide regular feedback to CalRecycle on public messaging designed to encourage proper recycling and to minimize contamination in curbside recycling programs. (3) This bill would extend the inoperative date of these provisions to July 1, 2031. (4) This bill would extend the authorization to provide financial assistance in the form of a sales and use tax exclusion for qualifying projects to January 1, 2031, and would extend the sales and use tax exclusion to January 1, 2031.	
AB 1652	Wicks	Amended March 21, 2019. Senate Floor.	Existing Law: Prohibits littering or dumping waste into a body of water or onto a beach or shoreline. A violation of this prohibition is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine. Under existing law, the court may, in addition to a fine, order a convicted person to pick up litter as a condition of probation.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would instead authorize the court to order a person to perform community service, including, but not limited to, picking up litter.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
AB 1672	Bloom	Amended April 25, 2019.	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste.	Support.
		Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Proposed Law: This bill would, among other things, on or after January 1, 2021, prohibit a covered entity, as defined, from labeling a covered product as safe to flush, safe for sewer systems, or safe for septic systems, unless the product is a flushable wipe that meets certain performance standards. The bill would require nonflushable products to be labeled clearly and conspicuously to communicate that they should not be flushed, as specified. The bill would establish enforcement provisions, including authorizing a civil penalty not to exceed \$2,500 per violation to be imposed on a person who violates the bill's provisions.	
AB 1718	Glazer	Amended May 16, 2019.	Existing Law: Makes it an infraction for a person to smoke a cigarette, cigar, or other tobacco product within 25 feet of a playground or tot lot sandbox area.	
		Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Proposed Law: This bill would make it an infraction for a person to smoke on a state coastal beach or in a unit of the state park system or to dispose of used cigar or cigarette waste on a state coastal beach or in a unit of the state park system. The bill would require the Department of Parks and Recreation to develop and post signs at the main entrances to state coastal beaches and units of the state park system to provide notice of the smoking prohibition. The bill would authorize the Director of Parks and Recreation to designate, by posted order, areas within units of the state park system as exempt from these provisions.	
AB 1762	Boerner Horvath	Introduced February 22, 2019. In Assembly Pending Referral.	Existing Law: The California Renewables Portfolio Standard Program requires the Public Utilities Commission to establish a renewables portfolio standard requiring all retail sellers to procure a minimum quantity of electricity products from eligible renewable energy resources during specified compliance periods. The program additionally requires each local publicly owned electric utility to procure a minimum quantity of electricity of electricity products from eligible renewable energy resources a minimum quantity of electricity products from eligible renewable energy resources a minimum quantity of electricity products from eligible renewable energy resources to achieve the targets established by the program.	
		Kelenal.	Proposed Law: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation to reform the program.	
AB 1770	Frazier	Introduced February 22, 2019.	Existing Law: CalRecycle is required to administer a tire recycling program that promotes and develops alternatives to the landfill disposal of used whole tires. The California Tire Recycling Act requires a person who purchases a new tire to pay a California tire fee, for deposit in the California Tire Recycling Management Fund, for expenditure by CalRecycle to pay the costs of	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
		Senate Committee on Environmental Quality.	operating the tire recycling program. The act provides that the tire recycling program may include the awarding of grants, loans, subsidies, and rebates and the payment of incentives for various purposes related to reducing landfill disposal of used whole tires and tire recycling. Existing law establishes the Rubberized Pavement Market Development Act and requires CalRecycle, in accordance with the tire recycling program, to award grants for certain public agency projects that utilize rubberized asphalt concrete. Existing law makes the Rubberized Pavement Market Development Act and requires can agency projects that utilize rubberized asphalt concrete. Existing law makes the Rubberized Pavement Market Development Act inoperative on June 30, 2019.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would extend the operation of the Rubberized Pavement Market Development Act to June 30, 2024.	
SB 33	Skinner	Introduced December 03, 2018.	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by the CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste.	
		In Senate Pending Referral.	Proposed Law: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation that would address the collapse of foreign recycling markets by reducing solid waste generation, encouraging transition to compostable or recyclable materials, and fostering domestic recycling markets.	
SB 43	Allen	Amended July 1, 2019. Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation.	Existing Law: The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 designates the State Air Resources Board (ARB) as the state agency charged with monitoring and regulating sources of emissions of greenhouse gases (GHG). The state ARB is required to approve a statewide GHG emissions limit equivalent to the statewide GHG emissions level in 1990 to be achieved by 2020 and to ensure that statewide GHG emissions are reduced to at least 40% below the 1990 level by 2030. The Sales and Use Tax Law imposes a tax on retailers measured by the gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal property sold at retail in this state, or on the storage, use, or other consumption in this state of tangible personal property purchased from a retailer for storage, use, or other consumption in this state.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would require the state ARB, no later than January 1, 2022, to submit a report to the Legislature on the findings from a study to determine the feasibility and practicality of assessing the carbon intensity of all retail products subject to the tax imposed pursuant to the Sales and Use Tax Law, so that the total carbon equivalent emissions associated with such retail products can be quantified.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
SB 44	Skinner	Amended June 19, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 designates the State Air Resources Board (ARB) as the state agency charged with monitoring and regulating sources of emissions of greenhouse gases (GHGs). The California Clean Truck, Bus, and Off-Road Vehicle and Equipment Technology Program funds zero- and near-zero-emission truck, bus, and off-road vehicle and equipment technologies and related projects, including, but not limited to, technology development, demonstration, precommercial pilots, and early commercial deployments of zero- and near-zero-emission medium- and heavy-duty truck technology.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would require the state ARB, no later than January 1, 2021, and at least every 5 years thereafter, in consultation with the Department of Transportation, the State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission, and the Governor's Office of Business and Economic Development and in collaboration with relevant stakeholders, to update the state ARB's 2016 mobile source strategy to include a comprehensive strategy for the deployment of medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicles in the state for the purpose of bringing the state into compliance with federal ambient air quality standards and reducing motor vehicle greenhouse gas emissions from the medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicle sector. The bill would require the state ARB to recommend reasonable and achievable goals, based on specified factors, for reducing emissions from medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicles by 2030 and 2050, respectively, as part of the comprehensive strategy. The bill also would require the state ARB to include other specified information in the updates to the 2016 mobile source strategy. The bill would authorize the state ARB to establish a process to identify medium-duty and heavy-duty vehicle segments that can more quickly reduce motor vehicle emissions, consistent with the California Clean Truck, Bus, and Off-Road Vehicle and Equipment Technology Program, with a beachhead market analysis.	
SB 54	Allen, Skinner, Stern, and Wiener	Amended July 10, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste, including single-use plastic straws. The Sustainable Packaging for the State of California Act of 2018 prohibits a food service facility located in a state-owned facility, operating on or acting as a concessionaire on state property, or under contract to provide food service to a state agency from dispensing prepared food using a type of food service packaging unless the type of food service packaging is on a list that CalRecycle publishes and maintains on its internet website that contains types of approved food service packaging that are reusable, recyclable, or compostable. Existing law makes a legislative declaration that it is the policy goal of the	Letter of Support if Amended / Oppose Unless Amended sent to Assembly Committee on Natural Resources on June 21, 2019.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
		Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	unit that meets specified requirements. Existing law requires each wholesaler and retailer of treated wood and treated wood-like products to conspicuously post information that contains a specified message, including a certain internet website address at which more information can be found, at or near the point of display or customer selection of treated wood and treated wood-like products. Existing law requires the wood preserving industry, as defined, to, jointly and in consultation with the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC), make information available to generators of treated wood waste that describes how to best handle, dispose of, and otherwise manage treated wood waste. Existing law repeals these requirements on January 1, 2021. A violation of the hazardous waste control laws is a crime.	to Assembly Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials on May 28, 2019.
			those provisions, as recast by this bill, indefinitely. The bill would authorize the message to be posted at the point of sale, in addition to at the point of display or customer selection. The bill would update in the message the internet website address at which more information can be found and would require the message to include an additional specified statement relating to the internet website at which the list of approved landfills that accept treated wood waste can be found. The bill would require the wood preserving industry to, in consultation with the DTSC, maintain and internet website and prepare fact sheets and other outreach materials on the appropriate handling, disposal, and other management of treated wood waste for generators of treated wood waste and for facilities that may receive or handle treated wood waste. The bill would require the outreach materials, and provide a specified update to the DTSC relating to that disseminate the outreach materials, and provide a specified update to the DTSC relating to that dissemination. By extending a crime, the bill would require the DTSC, on or before March 31 of each year, to produce a list that includes the generators that generated more than 10,000 pounds of treated wood waste in the previous calendar year. The bill would require the list to a unified program agency that has in its jurisdiction a generator that is on the list. The bill would also delete outdated provisions and make other nonsubstantive changes.	
SB 143	Skinner	Amended June 18, 2019	Existing Law: A junk dealer or recycler is generally prohibited from providing payment for nonferrous material unless the payment is made by cash or check and other requirements are	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
		Assembly Floor.	met, including that the check is mailed or the cash or check is provided no earlier than 3 days after the date of sale.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would authorize a junk dealer or recycler to also pay for nonferrous material by general use prepaid card in accordance with specified requirements. This bill would also make non-substantive changes. This bill would declare that it is to take effect immediately as an urgency statute.	
SB 210	Leyva	Amended June 24, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	 Existing Law: (1) Existing law requires the State Air Resources Board (ARB), in consultation with the Bureau of Automotive Repair and a specified review committee, to adopt regulations requiring owners or operators of heavy-duty diesel motor vehicles to perform regular inspections of their vehicles for excessive emissions of smoke. Existing law requires the state board, in consultation with the State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission, to adopt regulations requiring heavy-duty diesel motor vehicles to use emission control equipment and alternative fuels. (2) Existing law generally requires the registration of vehicles by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Under existing law, a violation of the Vehicle Code is an infraction, unless otherwise specified. Proposed Law: (1) This bill would require the state ARB, in consultation with the bureau and other specified entities, to implement a pilot program that develops and demonstrates 	
			technologies that show potential for readily bringing heavy-duty vehicles into an inspection and maintenance program. The bill would require the state ARB, no later than 2 years after the completion of the pilot program, to develop and implement a Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program for nongasoline heavy-duty onroad motor vehicles. The bill would authorize the state ARB to assess a fee and penalties as part of the program. The bill would require the state ARB, by January 10, 2022, to submit a proposed schedule of fees, as part of the Governor's proposed budget to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee for approval by the Legislature by statute. The bill would create the Truck Emission Check (TEC) Fund, with all the moneys deposited in the fund to be available upon appropriation. The bill would require the state ARB, at least 60 days prior to the first hearing of the state ARB to consider the adoption of any rules or regulations initially implementing the program, to submit those proposed rules and regulations to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee and to the appropriate policy committees of the Legislature. This bill would require the state ARB, upon the implementation of the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program, to provide mechanisms for out-of-state owners of heavy-duty vehicles to establish and verify compliance prior to entering	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			the state. This bill would additionally require the state ARB, within 4 years following full implementation, to provide on its internet website 2 biennial reports, including information regarding enforcement and operational downtime, downtime in addition to an estimate of the emissions reduced and cost-effectiveness. (2) This bill, no later than one year after the effective date of a regulation implementing the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program, would require the DMV to confirm that a heavy-duty vehicle is compliant with, or exempt from, the program prior to the initial registration, the transfer of ownership, or the renewal of registration. The bill would require the state ARB to notify the DMV of the vehicles allowed to be registered pursuant to these provisions. This bill would authorize the DMV to issue a temporary permit, valid for a specified period and subject to certain conditions, to operate a vehicle for which registration may be refused pursuant to the above-described provisions. The bill would require the payment of a \$50 fee for the temporary permit, to be deposited in the Truck Emission Check (TEC) Fund. This bill, commencing one year after the effective date of a regulation implementing the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program, would require a legal owner or registered owner of the heavy-duty vehicle to maintain a certificate of compliance with the vehicle, with exceptions, and would make a violation of this provision subject to a notice issued by an officer to correct the violation. The bill would require the driver of the vehicle has an illuminated malfunction indicator light displaying a specified engine symbol, and would make a violation of this requirement is a correctable violation if the correction is made, as specified. This bill would prohibit the operation of a heavy-duty vehicle in a manner resulting in the escape of visible smoke, except during active regeneration. The bill would specify that a violation of this requirement is a correctable violati	
SB 213	Wieckowski	Introduced February 05, 2019 In Senate	Existing Law: Litter receptacles are required to be placed in all public places in the state, as specified, and provides that any person owning or operating any establishment or public place in which litter receptacles are required to be placed shall procure, place, and maintain those receptacles at that person's own expense on the premises.	
		Pending Referral.	Proposed Law: This bill would make non-substantive changes to those provisions.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
SB 216	Galgiani	Amended July 11, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: Establishes the Carl Moyer Memorial Air Quality Standards Attainment Program, which is administered by the State Air Resources Board. The program authorizes the state board to provide grants to offset the incremental cost of eligible projects that reduce emissions from covered vehicular sources. The program also authorizes funding for a fueling infrastructure demonstration program and for technology development efforts that are expected to result in commercially available technologies in the near-term that would improve the ability of the program to achieve its goals.	
			Proposed Law: This bill, until January 1, 2023, would add as an eligible project under the program a used heavy-duty truck exchange, as specified. The bill would require, on or before December 31, 2020, that the state ARB hold a public workshop on the heavy-duty truck exchange and develop a plan to help air pollution control and air quality management districts add a heavy-duty truck exchange as an eligible project under the program.	
SB 372	Wieckowski	Wieckowski Introduced February 20, 2019. Senate Committee on	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste. The act prohibits certain stores from providing a single-use carryout bag to a customer at the point of sale and prohibits full-service restaurants from providing single-use plastic straws to consumers unless requested by the consumer.	
		Rules.	Proposed Law: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation that would address extended producer responsibility for single-use plastic products, including collecting waste consisting of those products, the transport and treatment of those products, the costs of litter cleanup, and awareness-raising measures.	
SB 405	Archuleta	Amended July 1, 2019. Assembly Floor.	Existing Law: The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by CalRecycle, generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste. The act authorizes the Department of Transportation to establish specifications for the use of reclaimed asphalt pavement of up to 40% for hot mix asphalt mixes, and specifies that this authorization does not limit the authority of the Department of Transportation to establish specifications for this use of reclaimed asphalt pavement in amounts greater than 40%. The act required the Department of Transportation to submit a report to the Legislature, by March 1, 2016, on its progress, since the year 2011, toward the development and implementation of these specifications.	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			Proposed Law: This bill would authorize the Department of Public Works of the County of Los Angeles to create a pilot project to demonstrate the viability of paving streets, roads, and highways with hot mix asphalt that is composed of between 85% and 100% reclaimed asphalt pavement (RAP). The bill would require the pilot project to be conducted on streets, roads, and highways in the county and would require specific project sites in the county to be determined by the appropriate and usual process of the county. The bill would require, upon creation of the pilot project the Department of Public Works of the county to establish an evaluation team consisting of specified members to independently observe, document, and evaluate the pilot project. The bill would require the evaluation team to prepare specified documents, including a final report that includes all relevant pilot project information to be submitted to the Department of Transportation, specified committee chairs of the Legislature, and the Governor's office. The bill would require the pilot project to be completed by December 31, 2022.	
SB 409	Wilk	Amended April 9, 2019. Assembly Committee on Public Safety.	Existing Law: It is unlawful to dump waste matter in certain locations, such as upon a public or private highway or road, upon private property without the consent of the owner, or in or upon a public park or other public property. It is unlawful to place, deposit, or dump rocks, concrete, asphalt, or dirt in certain locations. A person who violates these provisions is guilty of an infraction punishable by specified fines. Existing law also makes it a misdemeanor to place, deposit, or dump waste matter in commercial quantities in certain locations.	
			Proposed Law: This bill would make it a crime to transport waste matter, rocks, concrete, asphalt, or dirt for the purpose of dumping it in the locations described. The bill would make it a crime to dump or deposit waste matter, rocks, concrete, asphalt, or dirt on private property with the consent of the owner or an agent of the owner if a permit or license was required by a state or local agency and was not obtained. The bill would make it a crime for a property owner or agent to receive waste matter, rocks, concrete, asphalt, or dirt if a permit or license is required from a state or a local agency and was not obtained prior to receiving the waste matter, rocks, concrete, asphalt, or dirt. The bill would increase the fines for violating these prohibitions. A person convicted of a violation of this section shall be punished by a mandatory fine of \$500-\$1,000 upon a first conviction, by a mandatory fine of \$1,000-\$2,500 upon a second conviction, and by a mandatory fine of \$2,500-\$4,000 upon a third or subsequent conviction. If the court finds that the waste matter placed, deposited, or dumped was used tires, the fine prescribed in this subdivision shall be doubled. A person who places, deposits, or dumps, or causes to be placed, deposited, or dumped, or transports for the purpose of dumping, waste matter in violation of this section in commercial quantities shall be guilty of a misdemeanor	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than six months and by a fine. The fine is mandatory and shall amount to \$1,000-\$3,000 upon a first conviction, \$3,000-\$6,000 upon a second conviction, and \$6,000-\$10,000 upon a third or subsequent conviction. Because this bill would expand the scope of a crime and increase the punishment of a crime, it would impose a state-mandated local program.	
SB 424	Jackson	Amended May 17, 2019. Assembly Committee on Governmental Organization & Committee on Health.	Existing Law: (1) Under existing law, the Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement Act, an enforcing agency may assess civil penalties against any person, firm, or corporation that sells, gives, or furnishes specified tobacco and cigarette related items, including cigarette papers, to a person who is under 21 years of age. The existing civil penalties range from \$400 to \$600 for a first violation, up to \$5,000 to \$6,000 for a 5th violation within a 5-year period. Existing law prohibits the sale, distribution, or non-sale distribution of tobacco products directly or indirectly to any person under 21 years of age through the United States Postal Service or other public or private postal or package delivery service. Under existing law, a district attorney, city attorney, or the Attorney General may assess civil penalties against a violator of not less than \$1,000 or more than \$2,000 for the first violation and up to \$10,000 for a 5th or subsequent violation within a 5-year period. Under existing law, every person, firm, or corporation that knowingly or under circumstances in which it has knowledge, or should otherwise have grounds for knowledge, sells, gives, or furnishes a cigarette, among other specified items, to another person who is under 21 years of age is subject to either a criminal action for a misdemeanor or to a civil action brought by a city attorney, a county counsel, or a district attorney, punishable by a fine of \$200 for the first offense, \$500 for the 2nd offense, and \$1,000 for the 3rd offense. (2) The California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, administered by CalRecycle generally regulates the disposal, management, and recycling of solid waste including single-use carryout bags and single-use plastic straws.	Floor Alert of Support sent to Senate on May 23, 2019.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			agency. (2) This bill would require the manufacturer of a tobacco product to use materials eligible for recycling under state or local recycling programs, including electronic waste recycling programs, in existence as of January 1, 2020, to make any reusable component of the tobacco product, or, alternatively, if certain conditions are met, to collect reusable components that are not eligible for recycling through a take-back or mail-back program. The bill would define "reusable component" to mean a multiuse cigarette filter or a multiuse electronic cigarette that is designed to work for at least one year with daily use. The bill would require a manufacturer to collect reusable components that are household hazardous waste, and send those components to the appropriate recycler, or to reimburse household hazardous waste collection facilities, for the costs of collecting and recycling those reusable components. The bill would authorize CalRecycle to impose an administrative penalty, on a manufacturer that is in violation of these provisions. The bill would authorize CalRecycle to collect a fee that does not exceed the reasonable regulatory costs of enforcing and administering these provisions from the manufacturer of a tobacco product with a reusable component, and to adopt regulations to implement these provisions.	
SB 457	Hueso	Amended June 18, 2019. Assembly Floor.	Existing Law: The Public Utilities Commission (PUC) has regulatory authority over public utilities, including gas corporations. Existing law authorizes the PUC to fix the rates and charges for every public utility and requires that those rates and charges be just and reasonable. Existing law requires the PUC to adopt policies and programs that promote the instate production and distribution of biomethane, and that facilitate the development of a variety of sources of in-state biomethane. The PUC has adopted 2 decisions implementing these requirements, the 2nd of which adopted a 5-year monetary incentive program effective June 11, 2015, for biomethane projects. Existing law requires the PUC to modify the monetary incentive program in specified respects and to extend the program until December 31, 2021.	Floor Alert of Support sent to Assembly on August 6, 2019. Letter of Support sent to Assembly Committee on Appropriations on June 25, 2019.
			Proposed Law: This bill would require the commission to extend the program until December 31, 2026, or until all available program funds are expended, whichever occurs first.	Floor Alert of Support sent to Senate on May 23, 2019.
				Letter of Support sent to Senate Committee on

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
				Appropriations on April 18, 2019.
SB 667	Hueso	Amended July 1, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: The California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006 designates the State Air Resources Board (ARB) as the state agency charged with monitoring and regulating sources of emissions of greenhouse gases (GHGs). The act authorizes state ARB to include the use of market-based compliance mechanisms. Existing law requires all moneys, except for fines and penalties, collected by the state board as a part of the market-based compliance mechanism to be deposited in the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund. Existing law establishes the CalRecycle Greenhouse Gas Reduction Revolving Loan Program, administered by the CalRecycle, to provide loans to reduce the emissions of GHGs by promoting in-state development of infrastructure to process organic and other recyclable materials into new value-added products. Existing law requires the CalRecycle, with additional moneys from the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund to administer a grant program to provide financial assistance, in the form of grants, incentive payments, contracts, or other funding mechanisms, to reduce the emissions of GHGs by promoting in-state development of infrastructure, food waste prevention, or other projects to reduce organic waste or process organic and other recyclable materials into new, value-added products. The California Pollution Control Financing Authority Act establishes the California Pollution Control Financing for projects or pollution control facilities to prevent or reduce environmental pollution. Proposed Law: This bill would require CalRecycle to develop, on or before January 1, 2021, and would authorize CalRecycle to amend, a 5-year needs assessment to support innovation and technological and infrastructure development, in order to meet specified organic waste reduction and recycling targets, as provided. The bill would require, on or before June 1, 2021, the department, in coordination with the Treasurer and the California Pollution Control Financing Authority, to develop financial incentive mechanisms, including, among other	Letter of Support if Amended sent to Assembly Committee on Natural Resources on June 20, 2019.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			the department, to coordinate with the States of Nevada, Oregon, and Washington on infrastructure financing to support the recycling needs of the region and to create an advisory stakeholder committee to support development of interstate recycling infrastructure and markets for recyclable materials.	
SB 724	Stern and Glazer	Amended April 29, 2019. Senate Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: (1) Existing law, the California Beverage Container Recycling and Litter Reduction Act, requires CalRecycle to annually designate convenience zones and requires that at least one certified recycling center that meets certain requirements be located within every convenience zone. Existing law authorizes CalRecycle to grant a convenience zone an exemption from certain redemption requirements. Existing law limits the total number of exemptions that may be granted to 35% of the total number of convenience zones identified as having one or more of those factors applicable. (2) The act requires dealers within a convenience zone where no recycling location has been established, or within a convenience zone that is unserved for 60 days and not exempt from convenience zone requirements, to submit an affidavit to CalRecycle stating that the dealer has met specified standards for redemption, including that the dealer is redeeming all empty beverage container types at all open cash registers or at one designated location on the dealer's premises, during all hours that the dealer is open for business. If the dealer does not submit that affidavit, existing law requires the dealer to pay \$100 per day to CalRecycle, for deposit in the California Beverage Container Recycling Fund, a continuously appropriated fund described in (3), until a recycling location is established or until the dealer meets the standards for redemption specified in the affidavit provision. (3) The act establishes the California Beverage Container Recycling Fund and, except for administrative costs, continuously appropriates fund to CalRecycle for specified purposes, including the amount necessary to pay handling fees to certain types of recyclers to provide an incentive for the redemption of empty beverage containers in convenience zones. (4) The act also continuously appropriates from the California Beverage Container Recycling Fund \$10,500,000 annually for payments to cities and counties for beverage container recycling and litter clean	Letter of Support and Amend sent to Senate Committee on Appropriations on May 15, 2019. Letter of Support and Amend sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on April 19, 2019.

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	SUMMARY	TASK FORCE POSITION
			manufacturer, as defined, for plastic flake, pellet, sheet, or any other form of plastic purchased from a reclaimer and used by that product manufacturer to manufacture a plastic product in the state. The act makes these provisions inoperative on July 1, 2022. The act authorizes CalRecycle, for the 2019-20 fiscal year to the 2021-22 fiscal year, inclusive, to expend up to \$10,000,000 each fiscal year from the fund for market development payments to reclaimers and product manufacturers. (6) Under the act, CalRecycle is required to calculate a processing fee for each beverage container with a specified scrap value, which is required to be paid by beverage manufacturers for each beverage container sold or transferred to a distributor or dealer. CalRecycle is required to calculate the processing fee in a specified manner, so that the processing fee generally equals 65% of the processing payment that CalRecycle is required to pay to processors if the scrap value of the container having a refund value pursuant to the act is less than the cost of recycling. CalRecycle is required to determine the statewide weighted average cost to recycle each beverage container type by conducting a survey, as specified. CalRecycle is required to establish a processing fee account in the continuously appropriated California Beverage Container Recycling Fund for each material type and to deposit processing fees and other amounts in the applicable account.	
			Proposed Law: (1) This bill, would increase the total number of exemptions that may be granted to 50% of the number identified as eligible. The bill would require CalRecycle to review exemptions every 5 years to determine if each exemption still meets the prescribed exemption criteria. (2) This bill would revise these convenience zone redemption duties and exempt from those duties dealers with gross annual sales of less than \$2,000,000 and dealers that are not supermarkets and that have less than 5,000 square feet of interior retail space. The bill, until January 1, 2022, would also exempt certain other dealers from these requirements. (3) This bill would require CalRecycle to offer a handling fee payment from the fund to certain certified recyclers within unserved convenience zones. The bill would make an appropriation by changing the terms and conditions under which CalRecycle is authorized to make payments from a continuously appropriated fund. The bill, until July 1, 2022, would require the handling fee to be set at the rate in effect on July 1, 2015. The bill would authorize CalRecycle, until July 1, 2022, to annually expend \$3,000,000 from the fund for specified supplemental handling fee payments to low-volume recycling centers. By authorizing the expenditure of a continuously appropriated fund for new purposes, this bill would make an appropriation. The bill would require CalRecycle to develop and submit to the Legislature recommended revisions to the handling fee provisions. (4) This bill would require CalRecycle, on or before July 1, 2020, to convene a public hearing, as specified, for purposes of discussing and receiving	

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			public testimony on the development of guidelines for evaluating the circumstances that might prompt CalRecycle to withhold beverage container recycling and litter cleanup activities payments to any city, county, or city and county that has restricted or prohibited the siting of a supermarket site. (5) This bill would delay the inoperative date of these provisions from July 1, 2022, to July 1, 2023. This bill would additionally authorize CalRecycle to expend up to \$10,000,000 from the fund for those purposes for the 2022-23 fiscal year, thereby making an appropriation. (6) This bill would, for purposes of calculating processing payments, require CalRecycle, until January 1, 2022, to use the actual cost of recycling that was in effect on December 30, 2015, adjusted as specified. The bill would make an appropriation by changing the terms and conditions under which CalRecycle is authorized to make payments from a continuously appropriated fund. The bill would provide that the processing fees established by CalRecycle between the effective date of the bill and December 31, 2019, inclusive, shall not be higher than they would be absent these new provisions. The bill would require CalRecycle to suspend usage of surveys and calculations of recycling costs until at least January 1, 2021, and would authorize CalRecycle to redirect any contract funds for cost surveys and calculations to provide for a specified assessment and to utilize any contract funds available for the development of amendments to be recommended to the Legislature regarding specified provisions of the act. (7) This bill would declare that it is to take effect immediately as an urgency statute.	
SB 726	Caballero	Amended June 25, 2019. Assembly Committee on Appropriations.	Existing Law: As part of the hazardous waste control laws, authorizes a public agency or its contractor to operate a household hazardous waste collection facility for the purpose of collecting, handling, treating, storing, recycling, or disposing of household hazardous waste (HHW). Existing law authorizes a public agency to conduct a materials exchange program as a part of its HHW collection program if the public agency determines which reusable household hazardous products or materials are suitable and acceptable for distribution to the public in accordance with a quality assurance plan prepared by the public agency. Existing law imposes certain requirements for a quality assurance plan. Existing law requires a public agency to instruct a recipient to use the product in a manner consistent with the instructions on the label. A violation of the hazardous waste control laws is a crime. Existing law requires hazardous waste to be transported to a HHW collection facility by specified entities, including, among others, a temporary HHW collection facility or a registered hazardous waste transporter carrying hazardous waste from a solid waste landfill loadcheck program or a transfer station loadcheck program under agreement with the household hazardous waste collection facility.	Letter of Support sent to Assembly Committee on Appropriations on August 6, 2019. Letter of Support sent to Assembly Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials on June 28, 2019. Letter of Support

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION		
			Existing law prohibits an individual from transporting hazardous waste that exceeds a specified maximum volume or weight.	sent to Assembly Committee on Environmental		
			Proposed Law: This bill would define "materials exchange program" for these purposes to mean a program conducted at a HHW collection facility that makes reusable household hazardous products or materials available to recipients. The bill would additionally authorize a public agency's contractor to conduct a materials exchange program and would require the contractor to provide the same instructions to a recipient. The bill would revise the requirements for the preparation and implementation of a quality assurance plan to require, among other things, a quality assurance plan prepared by a public agency, or its contractor, to be implemented at each HHW collection facility operated by the public agency, or its contractor, at which a materials exchange program is operated. The bill would require a recipient of a reusable household hazardous product or material to use the product or material in conformance with its label, use appropriate personal protection, and manage unused products or materials as required by applicable California law, or as required by any applicable law in the state in which the product or material is discarded. The bill would impose additional requirements, that those commercial entities sign a statement certifying the accuracy of certain information under penalty of perjury. Because the bill would equire a public agency or its contractor, to immediately discontinue providing reusable household hazardous products or materials to a commercial entity if the commercial entity cannot verify its compliance with the additional requirements. This would additionally authorize a permanent HHW collection facility to transport hazardous waste. The bill would require a public agency or is contractor, to immediately discontinue providing reusable household hazardous products or materials to a commercial entity if the commercial entity cannot verify its compliance with the additional requirements. This would additionally authorize a permanent HHW collection facility to transport hazardous waste. The bill	Safety and Toxic Materials on June 4, 2019. Letter of Support sent to Senate Committee on Environmental Quality on April 22, 2019.		
Federal Legislations						
HR 0	Udall and Lowenthall		Existing Law:			
			Proposed Law: Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) for source reduction, end-of-life management including clean-up; incentives for product redesign; ban on expanded polystyrene (EPS), lightweight plastic carryout bags, cups and lids, cotton buds, cutlery, plates,			

BILL	AUTHOR	STATUS	Summary	TASK FORCE POSITION
			straws, snack packaging and drink stirrers which will all have to be made from reusable or more sustainable materials; retail paper and non-reusable bag fee; bottle deposit fee with recycling rate goals and standardized collection for all material types; and no Federal Funds for states that preempt local measures to more aggressively tackle plastic pollution.	
HR 4050	Omar	Introduced July 25, 2019. House Committee on Energy and Commerce.	Existing Law:	
			Proposed Law: This bill creates a federal grant program to help local cities invest in zero waste initiatives: source reduction, reuse, recycling infrastructure, and market development projects. The bill does not address the post-recycled municipal solid waste stream.	