Gateway Logo


map in header
The Los Angeles County Department of Public Works (LACDPW) enlisted the services of NET Corporation to design the recommended ITS improvements. This project is entitled the Gateway Cities Traffic Signal Synchronization and Bus Speed Improvement Project (or The I-105 Corridor Project), which consist of ten phases implementing five major recommended components. The components of the Project are:
  • Traffic Signal Management and Control System (TSMACS)
  • Sub-Regional Traffic Management Center (Sub-Regional TMC) and Local City Control Sites (LCCS)
  • System Components Integration
  • Communications System

Installation of the five components identified in the I-105 Corridor Project will provide an Intelligent Transportation System Corridor for the I-105 Area. The infrastructure deployed for the I-105 Corridor Project will be integrated with the Sub-Regional and County TMCs through the use of the Information Exchange Network (IEN) for traffic signal coordination.

The I-105 Corridor project area consists of Firestone Boulevard, Rosecrans Avenue, and Imperial Highway which run parallel to I-105 and four perpendicular arterials, Paramount Boulevard, Lakewood Boulevard, Bellflower Boulevard, and Studebaker Road. The arterials cross several local jurisdictional boundaries. There are a total of nine local jurisdictions, which are cumulatively referred to as the Gateway Cities. These include Bellflower, Compton, Downey, La Mirada, Lynwood, Norwalk, Paramount, Santa Fe Springs, and South Gate. The two regional jurisdictions are Los Angeles County (LA County) and Caltrans District 7 (Caltrans D7). There are a total of 194 signalized intersections within the I-105 Corridor project area. The I-105 Corridor project area is shown in Figure 1 below.

Project area map
Figure1: I-105 Corridor Project Area